MozillaZine

XPCOM: Event Receiver Problem

User Help for Mozilla Firefox
Bow 7
Guest
 

Post Posted November 8th, 2006, 1:21 am

Hello. I uninstalled 1.5.0.7 and then installed 2.0 from where I have it stored that first day 2.0 came out. The problem I have had off and on is when I close 2.0, got offline, and go to reboot. Up comes a window that says:

"XPCOM: Event Receiver is not responding".

I let it try to shut it down, but it does not work. I then have to hit end program to get out of it and get the reboot. I use XP Home SP2, if this helps. I could not figure this out and uninstalled 2.0 and reinstalled 1.5.0.7, now .8. That cured the problem. What causes that anyone?

KDJ
Guest
 

Post Posted November 8th, 2006, 2:42 am

I have also had this problem. I am on Windows XP Pro SP2.

I have uninstallede and re-installed and still have the problem!

I also have IE v7 installed if it makes a difference?

My only question is How did you re-install the older version of FF?? I can't find it!

Thanks.

Bow 7
Guest
 

Post Posted November 9th, 2006, 12:34 pm

I have 1.5.0.7 downloaded and saved. I always do this with Firefox and any other programs.

Bow 7
Guest
 

Post Posted November 9th, 2006, 12:49 pm


VanillaMozilla
 
Posts: 13799
Joined: November 7th, 2005, 11:26 am

Post Posted November 9th, 2006, 12:57 pm

<b>No, please don't direct people to other sites for downloads. You never know what you are getting.</b> You can always get old files from Mozilla, here: http://releases.mozilla.org/pub/mozilla ... /releases/ .


VanillaMozilla
 
Posts: 13799
Joined: November 7th, 2005, 11:26 am

Post Posted November 9th, 2006, 3:56 pm

DickVL, do you know if there's a bug report on it? I searched and didn't find anything. I'm considering filing one, since I have observed it and can therefore confirm it.

dickvl

User avatar
 
Posts: 51464
Joined: July 18th, 2005, 3:25 am

Post Posted November 9th, 2006, 8:06 pm

I couldn't find one either so you can try to file a bug on it.
If it doesn't get duped then you know.
Maybe it is an idea to ask a mod (trolly) to add it to the sticky at the top, I don't know how many times I've seen it today.

Bot 7
Guest
 

Post Posted November 11th, 2006, 12:43 am

Okay. First, I did not know where to find the older Firefox builds is why I posted the Hippo url and with the warning that I did not try it.

Second, I have installed 2.0 without removing 1.5.0.8 like another said to do. I tried before taking out the old one and them installing 2.0 and that did not work. Doing it the new way has not stopped the XPCOM problem. I have removed the old profile and put in a new one without any extensions and just my bookmarks. The problem is still here.

What does XPCOM do anyway besides cause problems? No, I do not know is why I am asking.
I am no tech.

Bow 7
Guest
 

Post Posted November 11th, 2006, 12:47 am

That was me last post. I mistyped my ID. I saw where it might be Java causing it.
I have Sun Java build 1.5.0_09-b03, the latest update.

greenknight

User avatar
 
Posts: 6158
Joined: December 13th, 2004, 2:28 am
Location: In the shadow of Mount St. Helens

Post Posted November 11th, 2006, 3:56 am

Bow 7, XPCOM stands for Cross Platform Component Object Model. As I understand it, it's the framework on which Firefox is built.

This error isn't new to Firefox 2, it's cropped up occasionally on various versions. Unfortunately, I have yet to encounter a reliable solution. Sometimes it just goes away on its own, but that's not much of an answer - wish I had something more. Hard to believe there hasn't been a bug filed about this before.
Win 7 Home Premium SP1 x64, Linux Mint 17 MATE x64, AMD A4 5300 APU 3.6 GHz, ADATA XPG DDR3 1600 8GB, ATI Radeon HD 5450 1GB, Firefox 39.0, Developer Edition 40.0a2 (Win only), Nightly 42.0a1x64 (Win), Nightly 41.0a1 (Linux AMD64) .

Old Amoun
 
Posts: 0
Joined: December 31st, 1969, 5:00 pm

Post Posted November 11th, 2006, 4:16 am

Ok folks. Just noticed this topic. I was going to do a search, but here I am.

I was running both 1.5.0.6 and 2.0 until late last night.

The problem only occurred when I uninstalled 1.5 and had to fiddle with the profiles.

Will keep an eye here :(

Old Amoun
 
Posts: 0
Joined: December 31st, 1969, 5:00 pm

Post Posted November 11th, 2006, 5:21 am

Ok Using the links above provided by 'dickvl' I read that someone got rid of the problem by unistalling DOM extension.

Well I decided to 'disable' it instead. Closed down with no problem.
Re enabled DOM Closed down with no problem. :)

Thanks All

dickvl

User avatar
 
Posts: 51464
Joined: July 18th, 2005, 3:25 am

Post Posted November 11th, 2006, 5:53 am

XPCOM is the interface that other programs use to communicate with Firefox.
So the error can be caused by other programs that fail to send the proper requests to Firefox and process the answers.
The DOMi does the same (has a DLL and uses XPCOM) and can thus cause that problem as well.
Sometimes the DOMi DLL is still in use when the updater tries to update FX and thus can't replace the DLL with a new version (installer bug, see the sticky at the top of Fx support).

Maybe process explorer (www.sysinternals.com) can tell which external programs use the XPCOM interface.

Bow 7
Guest
 

Post Posted November 11th, 2006, 2:10 pm

Greenknight and Dickvl - Thanks for the info.

Now, I may have cured it on mine. I made a new profile, without any extensions, put it in and removed the original. It was still doing it. I then installed GetMail and IEViewLite. I have not had the problem since. So far, 2.0 is running fine. I have my fingers crossed.

Thanks to all who placed links on and info to help me track down my problem.

Return to Firefox Support


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: dfoulkes and 21 guests