MozillaZine

I am forced to use IE till GIF animation problems are fixed

User Help for Mozilla Firefox
NeedHelpSoon
Guest
 

Post Posted November 29th, 2006, 6:35 pm

Try loading this image
http://polar.ncep.noaa.gov/waves/latest ... anim.3.gif
It locks Firefox till it's completely loaded and each time you hit F5 to refresh it goes through the same CPU memory hog process over and over. Used to work before 1.5.6

Please change the animation code whatever you did doesn't work!

Daifne
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 123056
Joined: July 31st, 2005, 9:17 pm
Location: Where the Waters Meet, Wisconsin

Post Posted November 29th, 2006, 6:42 pm

Doesn't lock my Firefox...

Guest
Guest
 

Post Posted November 29th, 2006, 6:59 pm

Try firefox safe mode. My Firefox 2.0 doesn't go above 9% CPU or slow down while loading that animation. (Also when I F5 refresh it loads from the cache instantly, i have to do ctrl-F5 to make it reload from internet).
http://kb.mozillazine.org/Safe_mode

schapel
 
Posts: 3483
Joined: November 4th, 2002, 10:47 pm
Location: Ann Arbor, Michigan

Post Posted November 29th, 2006, 7:36 pm

NeedHelpSoon wrote:It locks Firefox till it's completely loaded and each time you hit F5 to refresh it goes through the same CPU memory hog process over and over. Used to work before 1.5.6

I have 0% CPU usage while the animation is moving. Maybe there's a problem with your video drivers?

Kab
 
Posts: 1095
Joined: April 17th, 2006, 11:52 pm

Post Posted November 29th, 2006, 7:52 pm

Ditto. I have over 50 extensions (:P) and 5 themes installed on this FF version I'm using right now and I can still view that GIF perfectly. My CPU usage stays at 2% while viewing.

NeedHelpSoon
Guest
 

Post Posted November 30th, 2006, 11:15 am

I have found the culprit : Google Browser Sync

Once installed the animated GIF causes Firefox to peg the CPU @100% using more and more memory till it's done doing ??? Hit F5 and it starts all over again.
Uninstalling does no good?

Anyone else use this ?? I recommend NOT installing this Add-On

I have sent a message to google labs -> labs+browsersync@google.com asking for Help...

schapel
 
Posts: 3483
Joined: November 4th, 2002, 10:47 pm
Location: Ann Arbor, Michigan

Post Posted November 30th, 2006, 8:40 pm

Thanks for the information! I've added Google Browser Sync to the list of <a href="http://kb.mozillazine.org/Problematic_extensions">problematic extensions</a>.

Kab
 
Posts: 1095
Joined: April 17th, 2006, 11:52 pm

Post Posted December 1st, 2006, 1:31 am

schapel, you may add Media Connectivity 0.8.3 to the problematic extensions too. Once the update downloaded until I manually removed it from my extensions folder, FF2 would not start or start and then crash immediately even in SafeMode on a new profile with only 5 other extensions. Previous versions worked fine but the new one does not.
BTW its folder would be under this name: {84b24861-62f6-364b-eba5-2e5e2061d7e6}

schapel
 
Posts: 3483
Joined: November 4th, 2002, 10:47 pm
Location: Ann Arbor, Michigan

Post Posted December 1st, 2006, 1:07 pm

Kab wrote:schapel, you may add Media Connectivity 0.8.3 to the problematic extensions too. Once the update downloaded until I manually removed it from my extensions folder, FF2 would not start or start and then crash immediately even in SafeMode on a new profile with only 5 other extensions. Previous versions worked fine but the new one does not.
BTW its folder would be under this name: {84b24861-62f6-364b-eba5-2e5e2061d7e6}

You should probably report the problem to the extension author. The extension seems to work with Firefox 2, but is incompatible with one of your five other extensions. Without knowing what those extensions are, it's hard to describe what the exact problem is.

Kab
 
Posts: 1095
Joined: April 17th, 2006, 11:52 pm

Post Posted December 1st, 2006, 1:48 pm

Thanks. Well I've tried today with a new install and its working fine. The problem seems to be only when its updating.

Return to Firefox Support


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests