MozillaZine

Want to install FireFox 1.5 - hear it's more stable than 2

User Help for Mozilla Firefox
NewMozUser29A
 
Posts: 2005
Joined: August 11th, 2006, 5:35 pm

Post Posted December 10th, 2006, 5:19 pm

nite_aurora2 wrote:i just googled for older version....2.0 does not work for me...i like my extentions and 2.0 doesn't have the ones i want/use


The 'make all extensions compatible' option in the 'Nightly Tester Tools' extension has made every single one of my 20+ extensions work in both Fx 2.0 & the Bon Echo 2.0.0.1 nightlies.
http://users.blueprintit.co.uk/~dave/we ... ox/nightly

nite_aurora2
 
Posts: 19
Joined: March 1st, 2006, 4:18 pm
Location: canada

Post Posted December 10th, 2006, 6:50 pm

where do i find the nightly tester tools?

Edvo43
Guest
 

Post Posted December 10th, 2006, 6:53 pm

It is at the link just posted above :
http://users.blueprintit.co.uk/~dave/we ... ox/nightly

nite_aurora2
 
Posts: 19
Joined: March 1st, 2006, 4:18 pm
Location: canada

Post Posted December 10th, 2006, 7:02 pm

i now have it but don't know what to do with it lol......

rtmjr50

User avatar
 
Posts: 6318
Joined: August 2nd, 2004, 5:06 pm
Location: Raleigh, NC USA

Post Posted December 10th, 2006, 7:46 pm

nite_aurora2 wrote:i now have it but don't know what to do with it lol......


basically nothing ... just download and install it ....

WARNING: forcing extensions to work in FF2, may or may not work ..... if after doing this, Firefox has problems, then its most likely the non FF2 extensions. At this point, I can not believe that their are that many non-FF2 extension. DO NOT force a non Ff2 theme ... themes need to be modified to work in FF2. Using a old FF1.5 theme is most likely going to screw up FF2.

FYI, you really don't need a extension to force non FF2 extensions, to work in FF2 ... all you need to do is change a pref in about:config.

Starting with Firefox 2, you can prevent your extensions being disabled by creating a new boolean pref in about:config named "Extensions.checkCompatibility" and setting it to false.
-->Extensions.checkCompatibility - http://kb.mozillazine.org/Extensions.checkCompatibility

Also, staying with FF1.5.0.x is not a good long term solution .... all support for FF1.5 stops on April 24, 2007.

later, Richard
Rule #1: My computer is always right, the human is always the problem .. RULE #2: See Rule #1
using Win XP/SP2 (home) FF1.5.0.9 FF2.0.0.1 FF3a1 Tbird1.5.0.9 ==> Press for More Answers <==
No colours in sig please.

NewMozUser29A
 
Posts: 2005
Joined: August 11th, 2006, 5:35 pm

Post Posted December 10th, 2006, 8:14 pm

nite_aurora2 wrote:i now have it but don't know what to do with it lol......


That's why you have problems with Firefox - you haven't yet caught on to the (not new) idea of *reading* the instructions for use and options about something, in addition to just downloading and installing it.

NewMozUser29A
 
Posts: 2005
Joined: August 11th, 2006, 5:35 pm

Post Posted December 10th, 2006, 8:17 pm

rtmjr50 wrote:
nite_aurora2 wrote:i now have it but don't know what to do with it lol......


basically nothing ... just download and install it ....



Sorry Richard but that is far more dangerous than saying nothing. NTT extension has multiple uses and you very much *do* have to *do something* with it.

It's not advisable to give advice about an (excellent and widely used) extension that you obviously know nothing about.

After installation and restart of Firefox, bring up Tools > Add-ons > Extensions and click on 'make all compatible' > wait for confirmation and then restart Firefox.

NTT also has at least FIVE other uses which appear in a menu in the Tools context menu.

FF2newbie
Guest
 

Post Posted December 10th, 2006, 9:21 pm

Hi,

Thanks folks for the feedback and helpful links. From what you're all saying, FF2 seems fine/stable. And appreciate the point about FF1.5 support stopping in '07.

I guess I'll give it a try.

One thing that bugs me about upgrading FF each time is that I have to download and reinstall extensions each time. There should be a feature that at least copies and lists all the extensions one currently has installed, don't you think?

If anyone knows how to streamline this process, please let me know.

Thanks again!

-L

L.A.R. Grizzly

User avatar
 
Posts: 5349
Joined: March 15th, 2005, 5:32 pm
Location: Akron, Ohio, USA

Post Posted December 10th, 2006, 9:40 pm

FF2newbie,

This won't help you now, but I always download my extensions and save them on my hard drive. This way you will always have them to reinstall later and won't forget which ones you had installed.
Win7 Pro SP1 64 Bit
Comodo Internet Security
Pale Moon 28.6.0.1, Interlink Mail 52.9.7094, Firefox 52.9.0esr, Thunderbird 52.9.1 and SeaMonkey 2.48

DeMarko
Guest
 

Post Posted December 11th, 2006, 12:09 am

I too have been having problems with Firefox 2.0. I am not a n00b and I know what I'm doing. It isn't an extension problem or a system problem either, it's just leaking so much more memory than 1.5 was that it's unbearable. I'm grateful for Firefox, but I'll wait until next official stable

Bemeter
Guest
 

Post Posted December 11th, 2006, 12:35 am

FF2newbie: The Infolister extension will let you print out a list of the extensions you have.
https://addons.mozilla.org/firefox/447/

DeMarko: I am not having any memory problems. I suspect that what you are seeing probably IS caused by an extension, post the extensions you are using or see here:
http://kb.mozillazine.org/Problematic_extensions
(P.S. Many new versions of extensions that were on this list claim to be fixed, but are not. I would take the mention of any extension on the list, even an older version, as a fair possibility that it may cause problems.)

If you can come up with a list of websites that consistently leak memory starting from a reboot, especially in a new profile with no extensions and with items disabled like flash, shockwave, adobe reader and java, there are people who would like to know about it. (Javascript is often the cause, but it should be turned on for testing as it is part of Firefox and the developers could improve it). Schapel, for one, knows how to contact them.

FF2newbie
Guest
 

Post Posted December 11th, 2006, 1:27 pm

Thanks Bemeter for letting me know about the Infolister extension! Doesn't quite help me now, as I'm still on FF1.0 (if you can believe it), but will help for future!

Thanks!

Return to Firefox Support


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 11 guests