MozillaZine

0.5 Release Candidate 1 Builds Now Available (Win32, GTK2)

Discussion about official Mozilla Thunderbird builds
mscott

User avatar
 
Posts: 2516
Joined: April 2nd, 2003, 4:10 pm
Location: Thunderbird Research Center, CA

Post Posted February 6th, 2004, 3:47 pm

http://ftp.mozilla.org/pub/mozilla.org/ ... 02-06-0.5/

OSX bits should be up later tonight.

This could be the last set of bits before 0.5 if nothing really big comes up.

Just some minor changes since the 02/04 test builds including:

1) version string is now 0.5 instead of 0.5b
2) Updated <a href="http://mozilla.oregonstate.edu/pub/mozilla.org/thunderbird/extensions/offline/offline.xpi">offline extension</a> for 0.5
3) On Win32, Thunderbird does not always show the right attachment name when viewing a message sent by a Mac that is apple/double encoded.
4) When sending messages on the Mac, check with iternet config to make sure the attachment really needs to be encoded as appledouble before sending
5) Problems sending mail for folks using some ISPs like sbcglobal over SMTP
6) A couple more CSS improvements from boytojenkins in the main mail 3-pane window

Thanks,
-Scott
Last edited by mscott on February 7th, 2004, 11:33 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Thunderbirds are Go!

jhirshon

User avatar
 
Posts: 762
Joined: June 11th, 2003, 3:24 pm

Post Posted February 6th, 2004, 5:51 pm

Thanks. Scott - looking good! :)

plucky
 
Posts: 92
Joined: September 2nd, 2003, 6:16 am

Post Posted February 6th, 2004, 6:27 pm

Mail notification now works for me. Wicked.

christian

User avatar
 
Posts: 76
Joined: November 3rd, 2003, 6:18 am

Post Posted February 6th, 2004, 9:03 pm

when i leave tb inactive for a while, say just leave it on.. then get back, get some mail and reply to it.. when TB is resolving the mailserver, it just stands there for 5-10 minutes.. nothing happens. Then I have to save the message in drafts fex, close the "compose". Close thunderbird.. and start it up again.
Then it works fine..

This is very a bit lame.. Jup, jup.

Thanks for new build though :)
God is a comedian playing to an audience, too afraid to laugh.

j-gray
 
Posts: 62
Joined: April 11th, 2003, 4:34 pm

Post Posted February 6th, 2004, 9:26 pm

Haven't completely put it through the paces yet, but it's behaving well so far and seems a little quicker. Noticed two things so far...

1) Tools -> Account Settings -> Local Folders: The 'Browse...' button for the Local Directory is cut off at the second elllipse.

2) Edit -> Select All still doesn't work under View Message Source (Ctrl-A still works, however).


Good stuff, though. Thanks!
j

Ale

User avatar
 
Posts: 227
Joined: September 24th, 2003, 1:12 pm
Location: Helsinki, Finland

Post Posted February 7th, 2004, 3:54 am

The status bar 'bug' is still present, here are two images to explain it.
The first one is a plain text message, the second one is a html message.

Image

and here is the html message

Image

pzesar

User avatar
 
Posts: 75
Joined: September 1st, 2003, 4:50 am
Location: Austria

Post Posted February 7th, 2004, 5:20 am

i didn't find any issues concerning functionality - working smoothly :)


j-gray wrote:1) Tools -> Account Settings -> Local Folders: The 'Browse...' button for the Local Directory is cut off at the second elllipse.

yeah - i can see this too. the textbox for the account name is also cut off.
it looks like this:
Image

John Liebson
 
Posts: 6462
Joined: July 29th, 2003, 1:09 pm

Post Posted February 7th, 2004, 8:35 am

I trust that the Release Notes will, upon release of 0.5, point to the 0.5 notes, rather than the 0.4 ones?

fishbert

User avatar
 
Posts: 941
Joined: November 29th, 2002, 12:02 am

Post Posted February 7th, 2004, 10:59 am

Ale wrote:The status bar 'bug' is still present.

Well, chances are that if the bug has not been marked 'fixed' and/or is not targeted for the 0.5 release, that a patch will not magically find its way into the branch. Quotes like: "I think this change is too risky for 0.5 due to the regression it causes as I mentioned in my previous comment.." don't help, either. =)
http://bugzilla.mozilla.org/show_bug.cgi?id=217477

wgianopoulos

User avatar
 
Posts: 1736
Joined: July 23rd, 2003, 8:15 am

Post Posted February 7th, 2004, 11:54 am

mscott wrote:3) On Win32, Thunderbird does not always show the right attachment name when viewing a message sent by a Mac that is apple/double encoded.

5) Problems sending mail for folks using some ISPs like sbcglobal over SMTP


Thanks,
-Scott


I think you meant to say these 2 problems were corrected. Your wording makes it sound more like these are new regressions.

tam0
 
Posts: 31
Joined: December 20th, 2003, 8:21 am

Post Posted February 7th, 2004, 2:00 pm

The 0.5 release notes say (in the Recently Fixed Bugs section):

No more new mail alert notifications when all incoming messages are Junk.


Is it supposed to not show the notification even if I don't automatically move junk messages to a junk folder? Because if it is, then it doesn't work, the biff always shows up, even if I get one single message and it's junk.

davewave
 
Posts: 40
Joined: September 7th, 2003, 11:29 pm

Post Posted February 7th, 2004, 3:14 pm

Annoying local folders is back.

Tried to delete it with mozilla suite instructions.....
restarted thunderbird... local folders re-appeared.

if thunderbird is going to work for me... it should not act like MS! and force an account setting on me.
I want the complete freedom of Thunderbird Mail. Which means... control over every option.

0.4 worked without local folders. Since 0.5 trunks local folders back.
*grrrrrrrrrrrrrrr*

orizng

User avatar
 
Posts: 693
Joined: November 8th, 2002, 7:25 pm
Location: DALLAS,TX

Post Posted February 7th, 2004, 8:09 pm

ooops, why i have local folder in 0.4?

And as far as I can see, this 0.5 has some improvement of its UI, some strange CSS setting of menu and button seems ok now.
Last edited by orizng on February 7th, 2004, 8:16 pm, edited 1 time in total.

ercan

User avatar
 
Posts: 54
Joined: May 30th, 2003, 1:23 pm
Location: Berlin | Cairo | Alexandria | Kayseri

Post Posted February 7th, 2004, 8:16 pm

@ V. 0.4, when you check your pop3 account at the first time, there is an option to save the password.

In the nightlies some how this option disapeared. So i went back to the 0.4 release. Is this option back in 0.5 RC1?

foe

User avatar
 
Posts: 9
Joined: September 28th, 2003, 11:16 pm

Post Posted February 7th, 2004, 10:50 pm

Well, if your password is saved after the 0.4 release, just unzip the 0.5 release over the 0.4 files and the password should still be saved.

Return to Thunderbird Builds


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests