MozillaZine


WEB PAGES WILL NOT PRINT

User Help for Mozilla Firefox
ArrenJ
Guest
 

Post Posted January 17th, 2007, 8:45 am

MY COMPUTER WILL PRINT FROM SAFARI AND OTHER PROGRAMS ON MY COMPUTER, SO I KNOW IT'S NOT THE PRINTER'S PROBLEM, HOWEVER FIREFOX WILL NOT PRINT FROM ANY PAGES. I'VE CHECKED THE CONFIGURATION, I'VE CHECKED THE SETTINGS, AND WHEN I GO TO FILE PRINT, THE PRINTER DOES NOT GO TO THE PRINTING QUE. WHAT IS WRONG? HELP ME!!!!!!!!!!!

Old Limpet235
 
Posts: 0
Joined: December 31st, 1969, 5:00 pm

Post Posted January 17th, 2007, 9:06 am

Perhaps it's scared because of you yelling at it. Image
Please turn your caps lock off. It's considered impolite on the web.
ps, Besides which, it's darn hard to read.

cbreez
 
Posts: 3
Joined: January 17th, 2007, 10:28 am
Location: Canada

Post Posted January 17th, 2007, 10:35 am

My web pages won't print either. The printer does have a download that works with IE except I don't like IE. Much prefer Firefox. Help
'How beautiful a day is when kindness touches it' - George Elliston

Jasmin
Guest
 

Post Posted January 17th, 2007, 11:01 am

For some reason, it prints only the first page and not the others.
I've checked my printer settings but I'm baffled.

the-edmeister

User avatar
 
Posts: 32249
Joined: February 25th, 2003, 12:51 am
Location: Chicago, IL, USA

Post Posted January 17th, 2007, 5:05 pm

1. File > Print Preview will show you how Firefox will format a page for printing, if the Preview is empty you'll get nothing printed.
{Ctrl + P} on any page while in Firefox, is your printer selected in the Printer - Name: box?
Is the "print to file" box check-marked?

2. Printing 1st page only or 1st and last only:
There are number of Bugs that are affecting what you are experiencing. DIVs, I-Frames, and Tables that extend beyond the end of a page are what Firefox has a problem with.
https://bugzilla.mozilla.org/show_bug.cgi?id=113217
https://bugzilla.mozilla.org/show_bug.cgi?id=154892
https://bugzilla.mozilla.org/show_bug.cgi?id=192129
Here are two lists of core print Bugs from just after 1.5b2 was released (over a year ago), I don't know which, if any, were fixed in 2.0:
Bug list 1
Bug list 2
Use another browser for page where you are having the problem. K-Meleon works on some pages that Firefox has a problem with; go figure, they use the same Gecko code.

I get around some of those problems by using the Nuke Anything Enhanced extension to remove the extraneous garbage from the page before actually printing, using Print Preview to see when the page is to my liking.


Ed
A mind is a terrible thing to waste. Mine has wandered off and I'm out looking for it.

cbreez
 
Posts: 3
Joined: January 17th, 2007, 10:28 am
Location: Canada

Post Posted January 17th, 2007, 6:21 pm

Still having trouble. In Firefox I had already tried File, Print Preview and just a blank page shows. Help?
'How beautiful a day is when kindness touches it' - George Elliston

the-edmeister

User avatar
 
Posts: 32249
Joined: February 25th, 2003, 12:51 am
Location: Chicago, IL, USA

Post Posted January 17th, 2007, 6:27 pm

Is the correct printer selected?

type about:config in the URL bar and hit Enter
Preference name = print.print_printer
is the correct Printer showing?


Ed
A mind is a terrible thing to waste. Mine has wandered off and I'm out looking for it.

cbreez
 
Posts: 3
Joined: January 17th, 2007, 10:28 am
Location: Canada

Post Posted January 17th, 2007, 7:41 pm

That is interesting! I didn't know you could do that...But....yes, the correct printer is showing. help?
'How beautiful a day is when kindness touches it' - George Elliston

guerillagirl
Guest
 

Post Posted January 24th, 2008, 10:08 am

I use the YAML framework and although FF printed onlythe first page . :/

All I did was set the concerning div box class to display:block insted of display: table,- cause FF has a Problem with table printing----

so I recommend to take the concerning container / table and set it to "block" display. Hope that works./ will be helpful!?!

cheers.
stefanie

LIMPET235
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 39430
Joined: October 19th, 2007, 1:53 am
Location: The South Coast of N.S.W. Oz.

Post Posted January 24th, 2008, 10:13 am

Ummm stefanie,
This thread is a year old. I doubt that the OP is still around.
Ancient Amateur Astronomer
Win-7-HP/Intel® DualCore-2.0GHz/500G HDD/4 Gig Ram/550Watt PSU/350WattUPS/Firefox-20.0-62.0-79.0-93.0/T-bird-2.0.0.24/SnagIt-v10.0.1/MWP-7.12.
W.M.Y.C.
(Always choose the "Custom" Install.)

guerillagirl
Guest
 

Post Posted January 24th, 2008, 10:44 am

hmm, i know but..maybe it may be helpful for other users, i searched for fixing this bug and came to this site.
cheers from Germany :)

mmsteer
 
Posts: 3
Joined: March 18th, 2008, 2:47 am

Post Posted July 14th, 2008, 10:23 am

Im using Mozilla/5.0 (Macintosh; U; Intel Mac OS X 10.5; en-GB; rv:1.9) Gecko/2008061004 Firefox/3.0 nothing I can do will make it print more than the first page. Help!

the-edmeister

User avatar
 
Posts: 32249
Joined: February 25th, 2003, 12:51 am
Location: Chicago, IL, USA

Post Posted July 14th, 2008, 3:04 pm

A mind is a terrible thing to waste. Mine has wandered off and I'm out looking for it.

MajaRodriguez
Guest
 

Post Posted September 10th, 2009, 2:14 am

I have a similar problem: when I try to print some web pages in a certain web application, I get only the first page printed (or viewed in Print Preview). My printer works OK, because I just printed word documents and other web pages. So, for sure the problem in the content of the web pages that need to be printed. Did anyone had this problem before?

AndrewPLJ
Guest
 

Post Posted April 25th, 2010, 12:36 pm

I have been ok on previous version of Firefox. Just upgraded my Mac OS to Snow Leopard and now upgraded Firefox to 3.6.3.
All other applications print normal, including Safari.
Printing from Firefox only gives me the last page (or first page if not using 'collated' feature) of the printout when it has multiple pages.
Recommendations please.

Return to Firefox Support


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests