MozillaZine

Saved Passwords

User Help for Mozilla Firefox
dickvl

User avatar
 
Posts: 52813
Joined: July 18th, 2005, 3:25 am

Post Posted February 24th, 2007, 11:16 am

I had a try with it as I didn't want to reenter all my passwords as well.

It seems that the new file (signons2.txt) has an extra line for the url below the password.
Signons2.txt begins with #2d (signons.txt begins with #2c) to indicate the section with the exceptions.
Every sections is ended with a single line that only has '.' on it.
A section starts with the url, followed by two lines for the username and two for the password (field name and encrypted data).
Finaly there is a line with the domain where the password is entered on a website.
After the update that line seems to be empty (an extra line was inserted) and copying the above url to that line made it work for me.
If the login is on another domain then you may need to enter the correct url.
I didn't have such passwords so I couldn't check that.
Copying the correct login url to that empty line made the password appear again on the website.
You may need to double click the name field or press the down key and press tab to get the password.

See: Where is my profile folder?

Make a backup copy of signons2.txt if you want to edit that file instead of letting the PM add the new passwords after you have removed the old not working one.

spacebears
 
Posts: 6
Joined: November 19th, 2006, 9:55 pm

Post Posted February 24th, 2007, 11:31 pm

dickvl, could you please explain your solution in more detail?

I can't view my old passwords in password manager, but I did find the signons.txt and signons2.txt files. FF is using signons.txt as its new password file, but all my old passwords are in signons2.txt. So do I want to move the data from signons2.txt to signons.txt or make changes to signons2.txt and rename it to signons.txt? Does it matter if the final, revised file says #2d or #2c on it at the start?

In signons2.txt, I see the blank line after the encrypted password, but in signons.txt the line directly after the encrypted password only has a "." on it -- but you want me to add data to that blank line in the signons2.txt entries?

Maybe you could make up a dummy example so I could get a better idea of what I'm supposed to do?

dickvl

User avatar
 
Posts: 52813
Joined: July 18th, 2005, 3:25 am

Post Posted February 24th, 2007, 11:51 pm

Which version of Firefox do you use?

Fx 2.0.0.2 and Fx 1.5.0.10 use the new format and they convert the old file by changing the first line to #2d and adding the extra line to protect against cross site scripting (specify the url for the password).

spacebears
 
Posts: 6
Joined: November 19th, 2006, 9:55 pm

Post Posted February 24th, 2007, 11:59 pm

I just updated to FF 2.0.0.2 today. When I add a new password now, it adds it to signons.txt, which starts with #2c and has no extra line for the URL. Firefox is ignoring signons2.txt.

dickvl

User avatar
 
Posts: 52813
Joined: July 18th, 2005, 3:25 am

Post Posted February 25th, 2007, 12:20 am

Are you sure that you use Fx 2.0.0.2? (Help > About...)

the-edmeister

User avatar
 
Posts: 32205
Joined: February 25th, 2003, 12:51 am
Location: Chicago, IL, USA

Post Posted February 25th, 2007, 12:23 am

dickvl wrote:It seems that the new file (signons2.txt) has an extra line for the url below the password.
I am not seeing that extra line in signons2.txt from a 2.0.0.1 to 2.0.0.2 update (and that is on my sole installer version of Firefox). Does that line get added the first time the UN/PW is used? Or does it (or is supposed to) get generated during the upgrade from #2c to #2d?

I am so throughly confused by what I am experiencing when logging into UN/PW websites that I really don't see any difference in 2.0.0.2 than in earlier versions! I am gonna create a new Profile and start allowing Firefox to create a new set of password files.

Additionally, my 2 - 1.5.0.10 version updates didn't create a signons2.txt file at all, those two Profile are still using signons.txt.


Ed
A mind is a terrible thing to waste. Mine has wandered off and I'm out looking for it.

spacebears
 
Posts: 6
Joined: November 19th, 2006, 9:55 pm

Post Posted February 25th, 2007, 12:29 am

Firefox says I'm using 2.0.0.2, but I looked elsewhere and Windows seems to think I'm still on 2.0.0.1. I think I'll try a reinstall and see where that leaves me. Thanks for the help.

KiLL CraZy
 
Posts: 10
Joined: April 28th, 2006, 12:55 pm

Post Posted February 25th, 2007, 12:30 am

im having the same problem and I don't quite understand your solution dickvl... can you please explain it better?
I have windows xp with the new version of fire fox. (2.0.0.2)

dickvl

User avatar
 
Posts: 52813
Joined: July 18th, 2005, 3:25 am

Post Posted February 25th, 2007, 12:50 am

The new files were for me created after opening the password manager and choosing "Show Passwords". I don't know if they were there before. I suppose you need at least open/run the password manager. The popup might not do it.

My files are converted (I could put a backup back to test) and maybe I will do that.

I see two prefs in about:config in both Fx 1.5.0.10 and Fx 2.0.0.2:
signon.SignonFileName - signons.txt
signon.SignonFileName2 - signons2.txt

I don't know what determines which file Fx uses.

I see the extra lines in files with the #2d identifier.
If there are multiple passwords for a site then each password is followed by a line with the url.
The conversion seems to add an extra line instead of copying the main url.
Each username / password section consists of five lines (2+2+1).
A line with a single '.' is used as a separator.

Deviouz
 
Posts: 290
Joined: September 19th, 2006, 7:55 am

Post Posted February 25th, 2007, 2:33 am

I can confirm this working.. if you edit your signons2.txt to look like this below, if you have multiple user names for sites it works...!!!

.
http://login.myspace.com
email
xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
*password
xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
http://login.myspace.com
email
xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
*password
xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
http://login.myspace.com
email
xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
*password
xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
http://login.myspace.com

sensation
 
Posts: 17
Joined: February 14th, 2007, 8:51 am

Post Posted February 25th, 2007, 9:58 am

^^^^^ bump. Need help with this.

Rybo85
 
Posts: 147
Joined: December 1st, 2005, 10:17 am
Location: Lansdale, PA

Post Posted February 25th, 2007, 10:16 am

As mentioned above, you have to open your signons2.txt file located in your firefox profile and bookend each user name and password combo with the url of the login site.

Example:
Before alteration-

.
http://www.target.com
email
MEIEEPgAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAEwFAYIKoZIhvcNAwcECLx4XfA/5hqmBBi8lMpcsuxjC9zp4l6GossR4KeFweFgmQ0=
*password
MDIEEPgAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAEwFAYIKoZIhvcNAwcECAlbudJK7gOCBAh86S4pItCw3w==

.

After alteration-
.
http://www.target.com
email
MEIEEPgAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAEwFAYIKoZIhvcNAwcECLx4XfA/5hqmBBi8lMpcsuxjC9zp4l6GossR4KeFweFgmQ0=
*password
MDIEEPgAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAEwFAYIKoZIhvcNAwcECAlbudJK7gOCBAh86S4pItCw3w==
http://www.target.com
.

For sites where you have more than 1 account, you have to put the url after each account. Example:

.
http://boards.philadelphiaeagles.com
UserName
MDIEEPgAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAEwFAYIKoZIhvcNAwcECNzJDC+4P+IIBAhF8CTt24rGZg==
*PassWord
MDIEEPgAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAEwFAYIKoZIhvcNAwcECNCtCm1Em7uPBAh/uIH3Ti5BWA==
http://boards.philadelphiaeagles.com
UserName
MEIEEPgAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAEwFAYIKoZIhvcNAwcECP+ib20Gj1U+BBjQz7Hj7jqpvXT26Xs7Oupc05D22hnxQG0=
*PassWord
MDIEEPgAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAEwFAYIKoZIhvcNAwcECJny8tXjeUAiBAgSjyE3qtt1nA==
http://boards.philadelphiaeagles.com
UserName
MDIEEPgAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAEwFAYIKoZIhvcNAwcECIE9eRMgPCSrBAivoWghtiDYLA==
*PassWord
MDIEEPgAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAEwFAYIKoZIhvcNAwcECOobSjHgWlBqBAhh0/Oc3/kI4A==
http://boards.philadelphiaeagles.com
.

LeeTay
Guest
 

Post Posted February 25th, 2007, 10:43 am

Thanks to all for the work-arounds, although there's no way in the world I can ask my staff to do this for their browser installations. Any words from the Firefox PTB about a systemic fix?

KiLL CraZy
 
Posts: 10
Joined: April 28th, 2006, 12:55 pm

Post Posted February 25th, 2007, 12:39 pm

so basically just remove the ENTER spaces between all the lines and thats it?
And i realized that websites that I have multiple accounts for are nto in order. Like for myspace I would have one link at the top of the document and then another myspace link in the middle and etc... Do i have to rearrange that or just remove all the ENTER spaces from the lines and the passwords should start showing up now on my logins.

dickvl

User avatar
 
Posts: 52813
Joined: July 18th, 2005, 3:25 am

Post Posted February 25th, 2007, 1:21 pm

In the new signons2.txt file there are empty lines inserted below each encrypted password line.
Copy the url of the site at the top of that section (below a line with a single '.') to the empty line(s) in that section.
The passwords are only filled in if the url of the page corresponds to the url on that line in the signos2.txt file.

Return to Firefox Support


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 9 guests