MozillaZine

Mplayer and Quicktime plugin for Phoenix/Linux

Discussion of general topics about Mozilla Firefox
seindal

User avatar
 
Posts: 124
Joined: November 28th, 2002, 2:45 pm
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark

Post Posted February 1st, 2003, 4:01 am

Hi,

There is a mplayer plugin for Mozilla and Phoenix, that works under Linux. With the quicktime codecs for mplayer it is possibile to view embedded quicktime movies in Phoenix under Linux.

Mplayer is at http://www.mplayerhq.hu/homepage/
The plugin at http://mplayerplug-in.sourceforge.net/

With a recent Phoenix nightly, a recent mplayer with qt codecs and this plugins sites such as apple.com/switch and the LoTR trailers now work.

Hendikins

User avatar
 
Posts: 26
Joined: December 31st, 1969, 5:00 pm
Location: On a train

Post Posted February 1st, 2003, 4:29 am

The only reason this isn't up on PluginDoc is that I haven't been able to get it up and running on my machine, but I'm probably going to clean it anyway (I've got a testerbox which gets routine disk wipes...)

crippled-bird
Guest
 

Post Posted February 1st, 2003, 11:11 am

This is great. I'd been using plugger or hacking web scripts to download the media files and play them later. It feels pretty weird to click on "Windows Media Player" and have mplayer automatically play the clip in a little window with "Windows XP" on the bottom.

Mplayer and now this mplayer plugin have been the biggest advances in the past year in my battle for independence from Bad Bill.

mesostinky

User avatar
 
Posts: 215
Joined: November 4th, 2002, 10:44 pm
Location: NJ

Post Posted February 2nd, 2003, 12:30 am

Yes mplayer is indeed a treat ;), especially since crappy apple being afraid of a little competition won't ever produce a quicktime client for linux.

daihard
Folder@Home

User avatar
 
Posts: 16633
Joined: November 17th, 2002, 6:27 pm
Location: Lynnwood, WA

Post Posted February 2nd, 2003, 12:43 am

seindal wrote:Hi,

There is a mplayer plugin for Mozilla and Phoenix, that works under Linux. With the quicktime codecs for mplayer it is possibile to view embedded quicktime movies in Phoenix under Linux.

Mplayer is at http://www.mplayerhq.hu/homepage/
The plugin at http://mplayerplug-in.sourceforge.net/

Do I need to install both mplayer itself and the plugin in order to watch embedded QT movies? I just built and installed the plugin, but the QT movie I just tried keeps loading forever.

Thanks,
Kubuntu 8.04 (kernel 2.6.24-25-generic) / KDE 3.5.10
CentOS 4.8 (kernel 2.6.9-78.0.22.ELsmp) / KDE 3.5.10
Mac OS X 10.6.1 (Snow Leopard) / iPhone 3GS (32GB black)

seindal

User avatar
 
Posts: 124
Joined: November 28th, 2002, 2:45 pm
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark

Post Posted February 2nd, 2003, 1:06 am

Yes you need to install mplayer.

The plugin is just a front end for mplayer, which is the one doing all the work.

daihard
Folder@Home

User avatar
 
Posts: 16633
Joined: November 17th, 2002, 6:27 pm
Location: Lynnwood, WA

Post Posted February 2nd, 2003, 1:21 am

seindal wrote:Yes you need to install mplayer.

The plugin is just a front end for mplayer, which is the one doing all the work.

Looks like I need some help here. I've installed the GUI version (gmplayer) from the site you referred to. I can play an mpeg file using gmplayer without any problem. However, once I try a QT movie (such as the one under www.apple.com/switch), the screen says "mplay plugin... loading movie..." and just doesn't go anywhere. Should I install the coommand-line version instead?

Thanks,
Kubuntu 8.04 (kernel 2.6.24-25-generic) / KDE 3.5.10
CentOS 4.8 (kernel 2.6.9-78.0.22.ELsmp) / KDE 3.5.10
Mac OS X 10.6.1 (Snow Leopard) / iPhone 3GS (32GB black)

seindal

User avatar
 
Posts: 124
Joined: November 28th, 2002, 2:45 pm
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark

Post Posted February 2nd, 2003, 1:36 am

Have you installed the quicktime codecs? They are not a part of mplayer as such, due to copyright and patent issues.

They can be downloaded from the mplayer site.

daihard
Folder@Home

User avatar
 
Posts: 16633
Joined: November 17th, 2002, 6:27 pm
Location: Lynnwood, WA

Post Posted February 2nd, 2003, 2:02 am

seindal wrote:Have you installed the quicktime codecs? They are not a part of mplayer as such, due to copyright and patent issues.

They can be downloaded from the mplayer site.

Actually, I've installed the non-GUI version (mplayer) as well, and I can now watch most of the QT movies on the 'Net. Strangely, though, I still can't play the ones on the Apple site. :(
Kubuntu 8.04 (kernel 2.6.24-25-generic) / KDE 3.5.10
CentOS 4.8 (kernel 2.6.9-78.0.22.ELsmp) / KDE 3.5.10
Mac OS X 10.6.1 (Snow Leopard) / iPhone 3GS (32GB black)

seindal

User avatar
 
Posts: 124
Joined: November 28th, 2002, 2:45 pm
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark

Post Posted February 2nd, 2003, 4:18 am

The Apple Switch ads work just fine for me.

Maybe you still haven't the mplayer plugin in working order.

When you see a qt movie on the net, does it open an instance of mplayer in a separate window, or does it play embedded in the browser?

daihard
Folder@Home

User avatar
 
Posts: 16633
Joined: November 17th, 2002, 6:27 pm
Location: Lynnwood, WA

Post Posted February 2nd, 2003, 10:25 am

seindal wrote:The Apple Switch ads work just fine for me.

Maybe you still haven't the mplayer plugin in working order.

When you see a qt movie on the net, does it open an instance of mplayer in a separate window, or does it play embedded in the browser?

Thanks for your constant help. I truly appreciate it. :)

It plays the movie within the browser. Also, if I download a QT movie and play it using mplayer (both command-line and GUI), it plays fine. Just the ones on the Apple site don't play. :cry: I installed mplayer using the RPM files on that site instead of compiling the source. I doubt that's the problem (both the source file and RPM say 0.90rc3-2). Do you have any other suggestions?

Oh, FYI, I am using RedHat 7.3.

Thanks again!
Kubuntu 8.04 (kernel 2.6.24-25-generic) / KDE 3.5.10
CentOS 4.8 (kernel 2.6.9-78.0.22.ELsmp) / KDE 3.5.10
Mac OS X 10.6.1 (Snow Leopard) / iPhone 3GS (32GB black)

seindal

User avatar
 
Posts: 124
Joined: November 28th, 2002, 2:45 pm
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark

Post Posted February 2nd, 2003, 11:01 am

Which version of the QT codecs do you have?
There are version 5 and version 6.

I use version 6.

daihard
Folder@Home

User avatar
 
Posts: 16633
Joined: November 17th, 2002, 6:27 pm
Location: Lynnwood, WA

Post Posted February 2nd, 2003, 11:41 am

seindal wrote:Which version of the QT codecs do you have?
There are version 5 and version 6.

I use version 6.

Hope this isn't a dumb question. How do I find out? :oops:

Thanks,
Kubuntu 8.04 (kernel 2.6.24-25-generic) / KDE 3.5.10
CentOS 4.8 (kernel 2.6.9-78.0.22.ELsmp) / KDE 3.5.10
Mac OS X 10.6.1 (Snow Leopard) / iPhone 3GS (32GB black)

seb

User avatar
 
Posts: 1578
Joined: November 4th, 2002, 11:26 pm
Location: Paris, France

Post Posted February 2nd, 2003, 11:48 am

daihard wrote:Hope this isn't a dumb question. How do I find out? :oops:
Go to Windows Configuration Panel (hope that's how they call it in English), click on Quicktime and choose "About Quicktime" in the listbox.

daihard
Folder@Home

User avatar
 
Posts: 16633
Joined: November 17th, 2002, 6:27 pm
Location: Lynnwood, WA

Post Posted February 2nd, 2003, 11:57 am

Netsabes wrote:
daihard wrote:Hope this isn't a dumb question. How do I find out? :oops:
Go to Windows Configuration Panel (hope that's how they call it in English), click on Quicktime and choose "About Quicktime" in the listbox.

In case I haven't made myself clear, I am using Linux. :roll:
Kubuntu 8.04 (kernel 2.6.24-25-generic) / KDE 3.5.10
CentOS 4.8 (kernel 2.6.9-78.0.22.ELsmp) / KDE 3.5.10
Mac OS X 10.6.1 (Snow Leopard) / iPhone 3GS (32GB black)

Return to Firefox General


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests