MozillaZine

Firefox Does Not Work On My Windows XP

User Help for Mozilla Firefox
mervynsamson
 
Posts: 9
Joined: April 25th, 2007, 11:56 am

Post Posted April 25th, 2007, 12:30 pm

I have no firewall turned on. Internet Explorer and Netscape work with no problems. This is what I get for all sites using Firefox everytime time:

The connection was reset
The connection to the server was reset while the page was loading.
* The site could be temporarily unavailable or too busy. Try again in a few
moments.
* If you are unable to load any pages, check your computer's network
connection.
* If your computer or network is protected by a firewall or proxy, make sure
that Firefox is permitted to access the Web.

Why?

Internet Explorer is too slow, ad Netscape is too old!

Please help!!!
*Mervyn*

Guest
Guest
 

Post Posted April 25th, 2007, 12:32 pm

Have you checked your proxy settings? Double-check your firewall settings. Triple-check them.

mervynsamson
 
Posts: 9
Joined: April 25th, 2007, 11:56 am

Post Posted April 25th, 2007, 12:46 pm

I don't enable Windows Firewall (the only firewall I have) and I don't use Proxy settings. I'm behind a NAT'ed router which allows both IE and Netscape through with no problems. Also, in the same segment, I have other computers that use Firefox with no problems.
*Mervyn*

Lost User 227344
 
Posts: 0
Joined: December 31st, 1969, 5:00 pm

Post Posted April 25th, 2007, 1:57 pm

Checked this yet?
Tools>Options>Advanced>Network>Settings>Direct Connection to the Internet

mervynsamson
 
Posts: 9
Joined: April 25th, 2007, 11:56 am

Post Posted April 25th, 2007, 8:05 pm

"Direct connect to the Internet" is already checked but still will not connect. (I've also tried uninstalling and reinstalling the software to no avail). IE 7, Netscape 8 and 7.2 all work. Only Firefox does not. It's frustrating.
*Mervyn*

malliz
Folder@Home

User avatar
 
Posts: 43751
Joined: December 7th, 2002, 4:34 am
Location: Australia

Post Posted April 25th, 2007, 8:08 pm

Did you delete your old profile? as that is not uninstalled.
What sort of man would put a known criminal in charge of a major branch of government? Apart from, say, the average voter.
"Terry Pratchett"

mervynsamson
 
Posts: 9
Joined: April 25th, 2007, 11:56 am

Post Posted April 25th, 2007, 10:48 pm

I deleted the entire Mozilla Firefox folder in Program Files, downloaded a fresh copy of the program, then deleted all instances of the name in the registry before reinstalling. No improvement.
*Mervyn*

malliz
Folder@Home

User avatar
 
Posts: 43751
Joined: December 7th, 2002, 4:34 am
Location: Australia

Post Posted April 25th, 2007, 10:57 pm

No I meant your profile folder see
http://kb.mozillazine.org/Profile_folder
What sort of man would put a known criminal in charge of a major branch of government? Apart from, say, the average voter.
"Terry Pratchett"

mervynsamson
 
Posts: 9
Joined: April 25th, 2007, 11:56 am

Post Posted April 26th, 2007, 8:33 am

Thanks for pointing that out. I went ahead and deleted all the profiles in C:\Documents and Settings\<username>\Application Data for Mozilla and proceeded to reinstall the application. Same result- no progress. This thing should not be so hard!
*Mervyn*

JayDay

User avatar
 
Posts: 70
Joined: July 15th, 2004, 11:13 pm

Post Posted April 29th, 2007, 4:16 am

malliz, having the same problem as you. Loads of instances of others having the same problem but no solutions!

malliz
Folder@Home

User avatar
 
Posts: 43751
Joined: December 7th, 2002, 4:34 am
Location: Australia

Post Posted April 29th, 2007, 4:19 am

JayDay wrote:malliz, having the same problem as you. Loads of instances of others having the same problem but no solutions!

I don't have any problems with Firefox and I have been using it and testing nightlies since it was Phoenix 0.4

I was only asking the poster about his profile in order to help.
It's a pretty good chance it is a Firewall problem for a lot of people

http://kb.mozillazine.org/Firewalls#Firewall_pitfalls
And
http://forums.mozillazine.org/viewtopic ... 21#2295421
Last edited by malliz on April 29th, 2007, 4:21 am, edited 1 time in total.
What sort of man would put a known criminal in charge of a major branch of government? Apart from, say, the average voter.
"Terry Pratchett"

JayDay

User avatar
 
Posts: 70
Joined: July 15th, 2004, 11:13 pm

Post Posted April 29th, 2007, 4:21 am

Sorry malliz, I meant to address it mervynsamson

JayDay

User avatar
 
Posts: 70
Joined: July 15th, 2004, 11:13 pm

Post Posted April 29th, 2007, 4:22 am

I only started to experience the problem when I ditched my USB modem and installed a Netgear DG834G modem/router. Could this be the cause? I don't know enough about the settings to tweak with any confidence.

JayDay

User avatar
 
Posts: 70
Joined: July 15th, 2004, 11:13 pm

Post Posted April 29th, 2007, 4:36 am

mervynsamson wrote:I'm behind a NAT'ed router


So am I, could this be the reason?

Guest
Guest
 

Post Posted April 29th, 2007, 10:52 am

It's not the NAT'ing, JayDay. I have three other computers in the same segment that connect with Firefox, and all three have NAT'ed addresses: 192.168.0.x. Curiously enough, I tried installing Netscape Browser 8, and it too is getting "Contains No Data" for anyy site I try to visit. I believe it's the same problem.

Return to Firefox Support


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests