MozillaZine

Certificate (https) problem still an issue with firefox 0.8

Discussion of bugs in Mozilla Firefox
draziw

User avatar
 
Posts: 14
Joined: February 15th, 2003, 9:25 pm

Post Posted February 22nd, 2004, 10:19 am

On a home server, the cert expired, so I built a new one, and now I can't visit the page any more. No way to delete the old cert to add the new one. Anyone have a work around or fix?

The message: "You have received an invalid certificate. It contains the same issuer name and serial number as another certificate you are already using. Please contact the server administrator or email corresponent from which this invalid certificate came, and urge them to get a valid certificate."

Any ideas?

Thanks,
Ryan

Mook
 
Posts: 1752
Joined: November 7th, 2002, 9:35 pm

Post Posted February 22nd, 2004, 3:01 pm

Try:
Tools -> Options -> Advanced -> Certificates -> Manage Certificates... -> Web Sites -> select -> Delete?
(Remove the old certificate, then add the new one)

Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 5.1; en-US; rv:1.6) Gecko/20040206 Dreadbolted Joithead/0.8
poot.

draziw

User avatar
 
Posts: 14
Joined: February 15th, 2003, 9:25 pm

Post Posted February 22nd, 2004, 4:40 pm

Mook wrote:Try:
Tools -> Options -> Advanced -> Certificates -> Manage Certificates... -> Web Sites -> select -> Delete?
(Remove the old certificate, then add the new one)


The problem is that no cerfiticates show up under "Web Sites" (or any of the other tabs for that matter. :(

draziw

User avatar
 
Posts: 14
Joined: February 15th, 2003, 9:25 pm

Post Posted February 22nd, 2004, 9:29 pm

This is what the cert tab shows<br><img src="http://www.ddnsupport.com/cert.png" alt="No certs" />

draziw

User avatar
 
Posts: 14
Joined: February 15th, 2003, 9:25 pm

Post Posted February 23rd, 2004, 12:05 pm

A search on this problem shows a number of people have had the same issue. No fix found from my searching though. ](*,) Anyone come up with a work around?

Thanks,
Ryan

draziw

User avatar
 
Posts: 14
Joined: February 15th, 2003, 9:25 pm

Post Posted February 23rd, 2004, 6:28 pm

Now entered:
http://bugzilla.mozilla.org/show_bug.cgi?id=235370

User-Agent:
Build Identifier: Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 5.0; en-US; rv:1.6) Gecko/20040206 Firefox/0.8

On a home server, the cert expired, so I built a new one, and now I can't visit
the page any more.

It pops up this message: "You have received an invalid certificate. It contains
the same issuer name and serial number as another certificate you are already
using. Please contact the server administrator or email corresponent from which
this invalid certificate came, and urge them to get a valid certificate." when I
visit the page. There is no way to delete the old cert (to allow installing the
new one). The manage web certs page under options shows zero certs.



Reproducible: Always
Steps to Reproduce:
1. Visit website with homebuilt cert
2. Add cert
3. Have cert expire, go build a new one
4. Try to visit website & fail.

Actual Results:
Message: You have received an invalid certificate. It contains the same issuer
name and serial number as another certificate you are already using. Please
contact the server administrator or email corresponent from which this invalid
certificate came, and urge them to get a valid certificate.

Expected Results:
Let me zap old cert, and put in new one (or ignore it, or at least view it)

greygoose
 
Posts: 1
Joined: March 8th, 2004, 9:18 pm

Post Posted March 8th, 2004, 9:19 pm

No solution yet?

This is really annoying.....
I have to use IE just to connect to my firewall to use the secure web page.

Per Hansson
 
Posts: 5
Joined: March 6th, 2004, 8:07 pm
Location: Sweden

Post Posted March 21st, 2004, 2:24 pm

I have the exact same problem here...

I had to reinstall my webmail testserver and now the cert is invalid and I do not have it under advanced settings either....

corkscrew
 
Posts: 2
Joined: March 24th, 2004, 8:55 am

Post Posted March 24th, 2004, 8:57 am

Just curious, but I don't believe that when you add a webserver cert it goes to the webserver tab. I think it goes to the authorities tab. I would search through that a sec and see if it works.

Per Hansson
 
Posts: 5
Joined: March 6th, 2004, 8:07 pm
Location: Sweden

Post Posted April 3rd, 2004, 12:12 pm

corkscrew wrote:Just curious, but I don't believe that when you add a webserver cert it goes to the webserver tab. I think it goes to the authorities tab. I would search through that a sec and see if it works.

You where right, here is a pic of the cert that got added when I visit my webmailserver at 81.216.32.9/sq/

Image

Return to Firefox Bugs


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google Adsense [Bot] and 1 guest