MozillaZine

FX 2.0.0.5 Software Update AUS Connection timed out

User Help for Mozilla Firefox
Alice

User avatar
 
Posts: 2629
Joined: April 23rd, 2003, 11:47 am

Post Posted July 18th, 2007, 5:08 pm

I just wanted to post my experience updating from Firefox 2.0.0.4 to 2.0.0.5 tonight using Software Update (Help -> Check for updates) in case it helps anyone else having the same problem.

My Firefox 2.0.0.4 -> 2.0.0.5 update got stuck after an AUS Connection timed out message. Instead of downloading the full installer, as the message suggested, I restarted Firefox 2.0.0.4 to try again but Help -> Check for updates still showed the status as "Downloading Firefox 2.0.0.5".

I closed Firefox and did a search on "updates.xml" which is one of the files you need to remove when you get this error. (You need to enable searching hidden files and folders to find it - see this article)

The files used to be in the installation directory but are now found under "Local Settings" in Windows XP, under:
C:\Documents and Settings\Alice\Local Settings\Application Data\Mozilla\Firefox\Mozilla Firefox
..... I deleted the contents of that folder, which included:
updates.xml
active-update.xml
updates folder

I restarted Firefox and tried updating again. This time it worked and I got the 644KB update.
Alice Wyman

Alice

User avatar
 
Posts: 2629
Joined: April 23rd, 2003, 11:47 am

Post Posted July 18th, 2007, 6:29 pm

P.S. After restarting Firefox , I got the compatibility check and it showed:
Incompatible Add-ons: Java Console version 6.0.01
I had updated to JRE 6.0 Update 2 yesterday and the issue is supposedly resolved with that update. I found that I had a {CAFEEFAC-0016-0000-0001-ABCDEFFEDCBA} folder in C:\Program Files\Mozilla Firefox\extensions, created April 25, 2007, the date I installed JRE 6.0 update 1. I now have a second extension folder {CAFEEFAC-0016-0000-0002-ABCDEFFEDCBA} dated yesterday for the Jave 6.0.02 Console (the Java Console now works, by the way, since JRE 6.0_02 fixed the problem).

I uninstalled JRE 6.0 Update 1 using Add/Remove Programs - I was going to do that anyway, after making sure the new JRE 6.0 Update 2 version was working - to see if it would remove the JRE 6.0.01 extension folder from Firefox. It did, so that should prevent future errors.
Alice Wyman

Old Keith Warner
 
Posts: 0
Joined: December 31st, 1969, 5:00 pm

Post Posted July 18th, 2007, 11:20 pm

I installed Java JRE 1.6.0_02 a couple of weeks ago. Likewise, I removed _01 after I checked out _02. When I installed Firefox 2.0.0.5 yesterday I still got the bogus "Java incompatible" message. In C/Prog/MozFF/Ext I have -0000- and -0002- folders, no -0001- and I still got the bogus warning. Not that it matters, as long as Java works. 'Jus wonderin'

tanstaafl
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 46692
Joined: July 30th, 2003, 5:06 pm

Post Posted July 18th, 2007, 11:40 pm

I installed Java JRE 1.6.0_02 two days ago and just updated Firefox 2.0.0.4 to 2.0.0.5 a couple of hours ago with no problems.

I only have one version of the Java JRE. I appear to have a javaconsole1.6.0_02 extension installed in my Firefox program extensions directory. That version is supposed to fix the version compatibility problem seen with Firefox 2.0.0.1 or later. I don't a earlier version of the javaconsole extension, I assume it was removed when I uninstalled the older version of the Java JRE.

http://kb.mozillazine.org/Java#Java_con ... _-_Firefox

Alice

User avatar
 
Posts: 2629
Joined: April 23rd, 2003, 11:47 am

Post Posted July 19th, 2007, 3:27 am

Keith Warner wrote:I installed Java JRE 1.6.0_02 a couple of weeks ago. Likewise, I removed _01 after I checked out _02. When I installed Firefox 2.0.0.5 yesterday I still got the bogus "Java incompatible" message. In C/Prog/MozFF/Ext I have -0000- and -0002- folders, no -0001- and I still got the bogus warning. Not that it matters, as long as Java works. 'Jus wonderin'

The message I got referred to "Java Console 6.0.01". After I uninstalled JRE 6.0 Update 1 the corresponding "-0001-" folder in the Program Files\Mozilla Firefox\extensions folder disappeared, so I figure that will prevent future errors.

Are you sure you don't have the earlier Java JRE 6.0 still installed? If it isn't listed under "Java", it might appear in the Add/Remove list as "J2SE Runtime Environment 6.0" or similar (I don't know since I never had the first JRE 6 version installed). If not, you could remove the "-0000-" extension folder corresponding to the JRE 6.0.00 Java Console, which is actually a hidden "global" Firefox extension installed by Java 6 (ref).
Alice Wyman

Old Limpet235
 
Posts: 0
Joined: December 31st, 1969, 5:00 pm

Post Posted July 19th, 2007, 4:36 am

Many thanks Alice. That's another 134 meg out of my M/C.
I had the same warning come up.
I wonder why they don't kill off or overwrite the first updates?
I wish M$ did. All those damn patches!!! I'll need a bigger HDD soon.:D L.

Alice

User avatar
 
Posts: 2629
Joined: April 23rd, 2003, 11:47 am

Post Posted July 19th, 2007, 4:45 am

Hey. no problem :)

The Sun Java installer doesn't overwrite existing versions because some Java applets or applications need older versions. Sun actually recommends keeping older versions!

From http://www.java.com/en/download/faq/5000070400.xml
Can I remove older versions of the JRE after installing a newer version?
The latest version of the Java Runtime Environment (JRE) contains updates to previous versions. There might be some applications or applets written and tested against a specific version of the JRE.

It is recommended that you keep older versions of the JRE on your system. If you are running low on disk space, you can uninstall older versions of the JRE.

To remove older versions of JRE, go to Windows Java Runtime Environment uninstallation instructions page.


Unfortunately, that creates a situation where old Java versions never get removed. I'll bet lots of people have hundreds of unneeded MEGs and versions of Java with security issues.
Alice Wyman

sixthsense2k6
 
Posts: 8
Joined: May 10th, 2007, 6:42 am

Post Posted July 20th, 2007, 2:37 am

pls help me , i have unistalled my old java as i have updated JAVA 6 UPDATE2
http://forums.mozillazine.org/viewtopic ... highlight=

So pls help me ! have de same error as u experienced "server not found"
if i try 2 update firfox it says
AUS: Update Server Not Found (Check your internet connection or contact your Administrator)

helppppppppppp

Alice

User avatar
 
Posts: 2629
Joined: April 23rd, 2003, 11:47 am

Post Posted July 20th, 2007, 6:20 am

Someone here is posting a similar problem today, just a little while ago:
http://forums.mozillazine.org/viewtopic.php?t=568358
2.0.0 5 unable to update from 2.0.0.4
jjjj5 wrote:(I'm on administrator account)
Check for updates
Download & Install now

gets:
"AUS: Update Server Not Found (Check your internet connection or contact your Administrator)"

Then trying the download link http://en-US.www.mozilla.com/en-US/firefox/
Download Firefox - Free 2.0.0.5 for Windows, English (5.7MB)

gets:
"Server Not Found"
"FireFox can't find the server at download.mozilla.org"

Stuck?

...There are no replies yet but you might want to watch that thread or join it, if the problem is the same as yours. Did you try the download link at http://www.mozilla.com/firefox/ to see if you can get the update that way?

If you cannot connect to any websites then you should continue in the thread you started yesterday,
http://forums.mozillazine.org/viewtopic.php?t=567965
error opening websites
Alice Wyman

Ion Lad
 
Posts: 1
Joined: July 20th, 2007, 10:25 pm

Post Posted July 20th, 2007, 10:33 pm

Same AUS: Connection Refused on firefox when it updated to 2.0.0.5.

Dont have a firewall running, that I know of. Norton *was* installed, but uninstalled messily, so that's likely the cause of the problem, or perhaps the windows one (though it bails on startup). I ran EnumProcess and nothing is showing up in red as being active. I used CCleaner to see if it could find anything - caught a couple reg leftovers but seems like Norton's gone.

Tried reinstalling but that didn't help. So...

Help!

Any ideas would be great.

Thanks.
D

Alice

User avatar
 
Posts: 2629
Joined: April 23rd, 2003, 11:47 am

Post Posted July 21st, 2007, 4:04 am

If Firefox has already updated to 2.0.0.5 (you can check that by going to the Firefox menu and clicking "Help -> About Mozilla Firefox") and you now can't connect to any web sites, that usually means a firewall issue. See the "sticky" topic, Problems loading websites after Firefox update.

Also, searching on your error, AUS: Connection Refused I found this forum thread:
http://forums.mozillazine.org/viewtopic.php?t=463683 AUS: Connection Refused
...which also links to http://kb.mozillazine.org/Firewalls

If you need more help getting Firefox working, it would probably be better if you started a new topic.
Alice Wyman

tirituf
Guest
 

Post Posted October 26th, 2007, 7:48 pm

HI,
posted it under other thread.
there is some software, anti virus or something running which blocks firefox even if it and windows firewall is disabled.
in my case it was kaspersky.
For step by step instruction please visit

http://kb.mozillazine.org/Firewalls

thanks

jetmuzer
 
Posts: 1
Joined: November 22nd, 2007, 9:18 am
Location: UK

Post Posted November 23rd, 2007, 4:33 am

sixthsense2k6 wrote:pls help me , i have unistalled my old java as i have updated JAVA 6 UPDATE2
http://forums.mozillazine.org/viewtopic ... highlight=

So pls help me ! have de same error as u experienced "server not found"
if i try 2 update firfox it says
AUS: Update Server Not Found (Check your internet connection or contact your Administrator)

helppppppppppp


i have similar trouble..
my internet connection is ok, and i don't know what to do

steviex
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 28902
Joined: August 12th, 2006, 8:27 am
Location: Middle England

Post Posted November 23rd, 2007, 4:52 am

@ jetmuzer ...Please remove the link in your Signature.... It is considered SPAM on these forums.
Only two things are infinite, the universe and human stupidity, and I'm not sure about the former. -Albert Einstein

Please DO NOT PM me for support... Lets keep it on the board, so we can all learn.

Alice

User avatar
 
Posts: 2629
Joined: April 23rd, 2003, 11:47 am

Post Posted November 23rd, 2007, 4:54 am

For Software Update problems, see:
http://kb.mozillazine.org/Software_Upda ... e_problems

If you just want to update Firefox to the latest version, the easiest solution would be to download the latest version of Firefox from www.mozilla.com and install it "on top of" your current version.
Alice Wyman

Return to Firefox Support


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google Adsense [Bot] and 11 guests