MozillaZine

Windows Media Player Plugin not working =-(

Discussion about official Mozilla Firefox builds
eambo
 
Posts: 1
Joined: April 20th, 2008, 12:06 pm

Post Posted April 20th, 2008, 12:11 pm

Hi there =-) Just a little background:
I'm running Mozilla Firefox 3 Beta 5, I'm using Windows Vista Ultimate Edition with SP1 and Windows Media Player 11.
I have tried and tried to install the plugin, following the instructions both here and on the official firefox 3 beta 5 release notes page. However it just will not install. I have removed it, reinstalled it, but it is still not showing up in firefox >.< Can anyone advise why this will not install, or any workaround to make it install?

Pennington99
 
Posts: 415
Joined: October 16th, 2006, 2:21 pm
Location: Virginia

Post Posted April 20th, 2008, 1:58 pm

I too, on first try, found that it would not appear in the list of plugins. So, having made sure it was not installed, I rebooted, went through the install procedure, rebooted and voila, there it was.

W Vista SP1, FF3beta5

a;skdjfajf;ak

User avatar
 
Posts: 17002
Joined: July 10th, 2004, 8:44 am

Post Posted April 20th, 2008, 2:03 pm

I run WMP11 on Vista HP just fine, but I too went thru some issues till I found that the plugin went into a folder: C:\pfiles\plugins - once I moved the .dll to the correct location all was good.

Read here: http://kb.mozillazine.org/Windows_Media ... new_plugin

Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 6.0; en-US; rv:1.9pre) Gecko/2008042006 Minefield/3.0pre Firefox/3.0 ID:2008042006

WonderCsabo
 
Posts: 2230
Joined: June 25th, 2010, 9:29 am
Location: Budapest, Hungary

Post Posted September 20th, 2010, 11:35 am

With Fx4 WMP plugin is not working at all (it says: missing plugin)

It works fine in 3.6.x

Is there any way to make it work in Fx4?

pal-moz
 
Posts: 5933
Joined: September 23rd, 2005, 5:40 pm
Location: Tokyo , Japan

Post Posted September 20th, 2010, 2:43 pm

copy np-mswmp.dll in plugins folder (in 3.6.* program directory) to Minefield/4.0 program directory.

you have to create plugins folder in Minefield/4.0 program directory.
[Desktop] Windows 7 Professional (32bit/SP1) / Geforce GTX 660Ti 2GB (350.12) / 4GB RAM

WonderCsabo
 
Posts: 2230
Joined: June 25th, 2010, 9:29 am
Location: Budapest, Hungary

Post Posted September 20th, 2010, 2:46 pm

Thank you, pal-moz!

Whose task is this to fix? Mozilla's or MS'?

squall_leonhart

User avatar
 
Posts: 835
Joined: March 17th, 2008, 5:32 am
Location: Australia

Post Posted September 20th, 2010, 3:16 pm

MS's

its not registering the plugin appropriately.

pal-moz
 
Posts: 5933
Joined: September 23rd, 2005, 5:40 pm
Location: Tokyo , Japan

Post Posted September 20th, 2010, 3:16 pm

plugin is installed into only standard install directory, like c:\program files\Mozilla Firefox.
maybe MS's fault.
[Desktop] Windows 7 Professional (32bit/SP1) / Geforce GTX 660Ti 2GB (350.12) / 4GB RAM

WonderCsabo
 
Posts: 2230
Joined: June 25th, 2010, 9:29 am
Location: Budapest, Hungary

Post Posted September 20th, 2010, 3:20 pm

If you are correct pal-moz, with the final release it will working again, so it wont affect average users.

pal-moz
 
Posts: 5933
Joined: September 23rd, 2005, 5:40 pm
Location: Tokyo , Japan

Post Posted September 20th, 2010, 3:37 pm

WonderCsabo wrote:If you are correct pal-moz, with the final release it will working again, so it wont affect average users.

did you read the below site on Littlemutt post ?
http://kb.mozillazine.org/Windows_Media ... new_plugin

it says
""The plugin installer adds the file "np-mswmp.dll" to the Firefox installation directory plugins folder, typically "C:\Program Files\Mozilla Firefox\plugins". If Firefox is not installed or if the Firefox installation directory cannot be located, the plugin will be placed in another location such as C:\PFiles\Plugins [4] [5]. To install the plugin in SeaMonkey or in a custom Firefox installation, you will need to copy the "np-mswmp.dll" file to your browser's plugins folder, for example, to the "C:\Program Files\mozilla.org\SeaMonkey\plugins" folder for SeaMonkey. ""
[Desktop] Windows 7 Professional (32bit/SP1) / Geforce GTX 660Ti 2GB (350.12) / 4GB RAM

WonderCsabo
 
Posts: 2230
Joined: June 25th, 2010, 9:29 am
Location: Budapest, Hungary

Post Posted September 20th, 2010, 3:46 pm

No. But it doesnt change much.

Average users install firefox to the deafult directory.

Anyway, it's not good, and need to be fixed.

pal-moz
 
Posts: 5933
Joined: September 23rd, 2005, 5:40 pm
Location: Tokyo , Japan

Post Posted September 20th, 2010, 3:59 pm

>Average users install firefox to the deafult directory.

it's "C:\Program Files\Mozilla Firefox\"
so no problem there.
what is a problem ?
[Desktop] Windows 7 Professional (32bit/SP1) / Geforce GTX 660Ti 2GB (350.12) / 4GB RAM

WonderCsabo
 
Posts: 2230
Joined: June 25th, 2010, 9:29 am
Location: Budapest, Hungary

Post Posted September 20th, 2010, 4:06 pm

I dont you what are you talking about.

I asked about WMP plugin bug.

You said to copy into Minefield/plugins. Solved.

Then you said it's working well on default directory. "C:\Program Files\Mozilla Firefox\"

Then me said it's okay, because Fx4 final will use that. Minefield or beta are not using that.

Then you start complaining IDK what for. :S

Return to Firefox Builds


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: hwti and 3 guests