MozillaZine

Show Old Extensions 0.1.7

Talk about add-ons and extension development.
Pike

User avatar
 
Posts: 2293
Joined: August 10th, 2003, 12:12 pm
Location: UK

Post Posted June 3rd, 2004, 8:42 am

Show Old Extensions 0.1.7

Compatible with: Firefox 0.8.0+ Aviary, Thunderbird 0.6+ Aviary

This extension shows old style extensions in the new Extension Manager, and allows you to access their options dialogs and to disable/enable them.

It probably needs a bit more work but since the Extensions panel in Options was removed today (2004-06-03) I decided to release a bit earlier than I had planned. This is a bit of an ugly hack even by my standards but it seems to work.

Note: Due to extension manager changes, using versions of SOE older than 0.1.6 can prevent the disabling of extensions in 0.9+ nightly builds (and presumably in 1.0PR and above). Please make sure you upgrade to the latest version available below.

Homepage: http://www.pikey.me.uk/mozilla/#soe
Last edited by Pike on November 16th, 2004, 1:45 am, edited 10 times in total.

TheOneKEA

User avatar
 
Posts: 4864
Joined: October 16th, 2003, 5:47 am
Location: Somewhere in London, riding the Underground

Post Posted June 3rd, 2004, 8:44 am

Fascinating.

I wish the EM was on the trunk so that I could test this out.
Proud user of teh Fox of Fire
Registered Linux User #289618

BenBasson
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 13671
Joined: February 13th, 2004, 5:49 am
Location: London, UK

Post Posted June 3rd, 2004, 9:28 am

Am I correct in assuming that you only need this if you plan to keep your existing profile/extensions when upgrading?

Pike

User avatar
 
Posts: 2293
Joined: August 10th, 2003, 12:12 pm
Location: UK

Post Posted June 3rd, 2004, 9:39 am

Cusser wrote:Am I correct in assuming that you only need this if you plan to keep your existing profile/extensions when upgrading?

As long as all the extensions you use are packaged for 0.9 you don't need this, however if any of them still use the pre-0.9 packaging system this allows you to access their Options dialogs and enable/disable them.

This extension probably has a pretty short shelf-life but hopefully it will be useful for some people during the transition period.

BenBasson
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 13671
Joined: February 13th, 2004, 5:49 am
Location: London, UK

Post Posted June 3rd, 2004, 12:10 pm

Cool - thanks.

aaron

User avatar
 
Posts: 3130
Joined: November 4th, 2002, 8:49 pm
Location: Texas

Post Posted June 3rd, 2004, 3:42 pm

So if you're right, I'm understanding that the devs are removing themes and extensions from the options panel (the logical place that you would look for them) and replacing them with the tools menu items?

BenBasson
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 13671
Joined: February 13th, 2004, 5:49 am
Location: London, UK

Post Posted June 3rd, 2004, 3:45 pm

Sounds like it's already happened, at least, for extensions.

Pike

User avatar
 
Posts: 2293
Joined: August 10th, 2003, 12:12 pm
Location: UK

Post Posted June 3rd, 2004, 3:51 pm

aaron wrote:So if you're right, I'm understanding that the devs are removing themes and extensions from the options panel (the logical place that you would look for them) and replacing them with the tools menu items?

Correct, as of this morning the Aviary branch builds no longer have the Extensions or the Themes panels in the Options window.

aaron

User avatar
 
Posts: 3130
Joined: November 4th, 2002, 8:49 pm
Location: Texas

Post Posted June 3rd, 2004, 4:55 pm

That's weird. Wonder why they decided to do that? I wonder if in the future the Options menu will be no more, and it will be replaced by items in the Tools menu?

ehume

User avatar
 
Posts: 6743
Joined: November 17th, 2002, 12:33 pm
Location: Princeton, NJ, USA

Post Posted June 3rd, 2004, 8:30 pm

Pike wrote:. . . since the Extensions panel in Options was removed today . . .

That's really ugly.
Firefox: Sic transit gloria mundi.

James
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 27654
Joined: June 18th, 2003, 3:07 pm
Location: Made in Canada

Post Posted June 3rd, 2004, 8:55 pm

Thanks Pike

I have actually been thinking of this very same idea for a short time but never posted the idea.

Sailfish
 
Posts: 5681
Joined: November 5th, 2002, 4:58 pm

Post Posted June 3rd, 2004, 10:49 pm

Pike, I'm not sure how long your extension will work for but it solves a big problem I addressed here, at least for Extension Development. How much difficulty would it be to extend the functionality to include the Theme Manager?

If you can get that to work, I know a lot of Extension/Theme developers who will make installing this extension Priority #1 for ongoing development.

Great piece of work you've done here.

Zulithe

User avatar
 
Posts: 657
Joined: May 3rd, 2003, 5:45 pm
Location: San Francisco, CA

Post Posted June 4th, 2004, 1:42 am

Thank you Pike! This is bound to be useful!

I just installed a June 3rd build (zip) with a new profile because of the profile directory changes and installed my extentions (including this one in order to be able to access my 'legacy' extentions)

I installed MiniT ( http://mozilla.dorando.at/miniT.xpi ) but I noticed that it shows up twice in the extention manager. Once as green and once as red.

Maybe a problem with MiniT itself? Anyway, just something to look at maybe ... since I am not qualified, heh

Pike

User avatar
 
Posts: 2293
Joined: August 10th, 2003, 12:12 pm
Location: UK

Post Posted June 4th, 2004, 2:27 am

Zulithe wrote:I installed MiniT ( http://mozilla.dorando.at/miniT.xpi ) but I noticed that it shows up twice in the extention manager. Once as green and once as red.

Fixed, you should be able to go into Tools->Extensions, select SOE and hit update to get the new version.

I should probably point out that hybrid extensions (those designed to work with 0.8 & 0.9) naturally show up twice, at the moment I have a hack in place to prevent this. One of the things I was hoping to do before release was to find a better solution, unfortunately with the earlier than planned release I haven't yet had the time, so this updated release is just tweaking the hack a bit rather than a real fix.

TheOneKEA

User avatar
 
Posts: 4864
Joined: October 16th, 2003, 5:47 am
Location: Somewhere in London, riding the Underground

Post Posted June 4th, 2004, 2:33 am

Does this extension work correctly with Thunderbird 0.6 Aviary? I installed it with no ill effect, and when I went to install ChromEdit, it momentarily appeared in the new EM above the entry created by SOE, and then vanished.
Proud user of teh Fox of Fire
Registered Linux User #289618

Return to Extension Development


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests