MozillaZine

[Ext] Net Notes - Store Notes on Websites in your Bookmarks

Announce and Discuss the Latest Theme and Extension Releases.
madblueimp
 
Posts: 524
Joined: January 31st, 2007, 12:23 pm

Post Posted August 29th, 2008, 4:45 am

NET NOTES PROJECT IS SEARCHING FOR A NEW DEVELOPER
If you are an add-on developer and would like to takeover this project please contact me at https://blueimp.net



Net Notes

Store Notes on Websites in your Bookmarks.

Image

Project page:
http://netnotes.mozdev.org/
Last edited by madblueimp on April 9th, 2010, 9:41 am, edited 2 times in total.

LLane
 
Posts: 37
Joined: July 30th, 2006, 2:26 am

Post Posted August 30th, 2008, 5:55 pm

I love this add-on and the way it works. I love the auto save and the ease of use. Thanks for sharing it.

However, for some reason, when I try to drag the button to my toolbar, it leaves this huge set of icons (like all the default FF icons in one chunk that's 200x300 pixels tall) in place of the Notes icon, even if I can see the Notes icon in the Customize pop-up box. I really want to add the toolbar button because I never use hotkeys for functions. I don't know why this is the case, but all my other buttons (and I do have tons) work as expected. Any thoughts on why this is so?

madblueimp
 
Posts: 524
Joined: January 31st, 2007, 12:23 pm

Post Posted August 31st, 2008, 3:24 am

I think I know the cause of this issue (there was a similar issue with my other two add-ons).
It seems that toolbar button styles cannot be assigned using CSS classes but must be assigned using the id of the toolbar button element.
I've uploaded a new version (0.0.0.2) which should fix it.

Ken Saunders

User avatar
 
Posts: 1008
Joined: March 14th, 2005, 2:52 pm
Location: Mozillaopolis

Post Posted August 31st, 2008, 5:05 am

I love it! :D

I haven't had any toolbar button issues and I'm sure that you (madblueimp) haven't had any either otherwise you wouldn't have released it.
Could it be an extension incompatibility?

madblueimp
 
Posts: 524
Joined: January 31st, 2007, 12:23 pm

Post Posted August 31st, 2008, 5:23 am

Thanks, Ken! :)

I couldn't reproduce the issue with the toolbar button, but is sounds like a similar issue some users reported for Autofill Forms and Secure Login.
Until today I could never reproduce it myself, but nonetheless I released new versions which fixed the problem.
I applied the same fix for version 0.0.0.2 of Net Notes, so hopefully the issue is solved.

I hoped it would be possible to be able to use a CSS class instead of applying the toolbar button style via the id of the toolbar button.
But it seems this produces problems on some installations, if not on all of them (and never on my test installations, else I wouldn't have released those versions).

LLane
 
Posts: 37
Joined: July 30th, 2006, 2:26 am

Post Posted August 31st, 2008, 6:32 am

It's working perfectly now. Thanks so much for the quick response, madblueimp. This extension is well on its way to becoming one of my favorites. :)

noahreadcamp
 
Posts: 18
Joined: August 15th, 2008, 7:52 pm

Post Posted August 31st, 2008, 2:27 pm

Hi,

For some reason I can't get the hotkey to work. I've set it to a variety of different combinations, yet when I'm clicked into the document window, and I press the appropriate combination, nothing happens. Maybe I'm doing something wrong?

Application: Firefox 3.0.1 (2008070208)
Operating System: WINNT (x86-msvc)

- Adblock Plus 0.7.5.5
- Better GReader 0.4
- Classic Compact Options 1.1.3
- Combine Stop-Reload Buttons 0.3
- Configuration Mania 1.09.2008081401
- Console² 0.3.9.1
- Download Statusbar 0.9.6.3
- Edit Middle 2
- Extension List Dumper 1.14.1
- Find All 1.1
- Firebug 1.2.0
(Disabled)
- FireShot 0.58
- Forecastfox 0.9.7.7
- Greasemonkey 0.8.20080609.0
- Hide Find Bar 0.8
- Hide Menubar 1.0.20080706
- Java Console 6.0.03
- Java Console 6.0.05
- Java Console 6.0.07
- keywordManager 0.7.1
- MeasureIt 0.3.8
- Mouse Gestures Redox 2.0.2
- Net Notes 0.0.0.2
- Palette Grabber 0.4
(Disabled)
- Poster 1.7.1
(Disabled)
- Tab Mix Plus 0.3.6.1.080416
- WebMail Notifier 1.1.5
- Zotero 1.0.7
(Disabled)

madblueimp
 
Posts: 524
Joined: January 31st, 2007, 12:23 pm

Post Posted September 1st, 2008, 1:12 am

Did you open a new Firefox window (not a new tab) after changing the keyboard shorcut?
New keyboard shortcuts only take effect in a new Firefox window.

noahreadcamp
 
Posts: 18
Joined: August 15th, 2008, 7:52 pm

Post Posted September 1st, 2008, 8:40 am

That was exactly the problem. Thank you!

LLane
 
Posts: 37
Joined: July 30th, 2006, 2:26 am

Post Posted September 21st, 2008, 2:17 am

NetNotes is working perfectly for me right now, but I'm posting because I was wondering how NetNotes' saving function works with crashes. Like, if I'm in the middle of typing a note when FF crashes, would NetNotes save the things I typed, or would it fail to do so because I didn't manually close the sidebar? Thanks!

madblueimp
 
Posts: 524
Joined: January 31st, 2007, 12:23 pm

Post Posted September 21st, 2008, 2:45 am

My first approach was to immediately save notes on typing. But I noticed small delays when typing into the textbox with this implementation.
This is why I added a buffer and the current note is only saved when closing the sidebar, or changing location (tab change, page load).
So if Firefox crashes the changes to your current note will be lost.

LLane
 
Posts: 37
Joined: July 30th, 2006, 2:26 am

Post Posted September 21st, 2008, 3:07 am

Is there any way you'd consider making it an option in a future implementation (i.e. save on typing or save on close)? Or is the code wholly altered for each one? That would make an already helpful tool even better. Either way, thanks!

madblueimp
 
Posts: 524
Joined: January 31st, 2007, 12:23 pm

Post Posted September 21st, 2008, 3:20 am

It's quite easy to add such an option, so I think I'll add it for the next release. Though it might only be accessible via about:config in the next version.

LLane
 
Posts: 37
Joined: July 30th, 2006, 2:26 am

Post Posted September 21st, 2008, 3:37 am

That would be excellent. Thanks so much.

LLane
 
Posts: 37
Joined: July 30th, 2006, 2:26 am

Post Posted September 28th, 2008, 10:00 pm

I am suddenly having some issues with this add-on on livejournal. I typed out notes, closed the sidebar. I hovered the bookmark to see my customized tooltip. No description listed for the bookmark. Opened the sidebar again. Nothing typed there. I actually needed those notes and it took a while to type them, so I was a bit distressed at their disappearance. I retyped the notes. Closed the sidebar. Hovered over the bookmark. No description. Bookmarked the page again. Still no description upon hover over the new bookmark. Reopened the sidebar. No notes.

It's happened thrice today. I never noticed such a problem before.

Return to Extension/Theme Releases


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests