MozillaZine

NEW: YahooCompose 0.2 released

Talk about add-ons and extension development.
jedbro

User avatar
 
Posts: 1899
Joined: November 10th, 2002, 12:35 pm
Location: Mexico / Boulder Co.

Post Posted July 12th, 2004, 9:44 pm

Update July 22nd

YahooCompose is no Longer.

It has now become WebMailCompose.
Last edited by jedbro on July 21st, 2004, 11:32 pm, edited 10 times in total.

jedbro

User avatar
 
Posts: 1899
Joined: November 10th, 2002, 12:35 pm
Location: Mexico / Boulder Co.

Post Posted July 12th, 2004, 9:47 pm

Also.. I'm debating on what icons I like the best
1) Image -- Image

2) Image -- Image

Which do you like best?
-Jed

scottastrophik
 
Posts: 36
Joined: July 12th, 2004, 12:08 pm

Post Posted July 12th, 2004, 10:36 pm

You will need to set the server to your local yahoomail server (shown when logged in) (i.e. http://us.f134.mail.yahoo.com/ym/Compose?) then restart your browser.

Ok I am new to this but very interested. Does this work with the free yahoo email? If so where do i need to put this??

jedbro

User avatar
 
Posts: 1899
Joined: November 10th, 2002, 12:35 pm
Location: Mexico / Boulder Co.

Post Posted July 12th, 2004, 10:46 pm

scottastrophik wrote:You will need to set the server to your local yahoomail server (shown when logged in) (i.e. http://us.f134.mail.yahoo.com/ym/Compose?) then restart your browser.

Ok I am new to this but very interested. Does this work with the free yahoo email? If so where do i need to put this??


Ok, first install the extensions, and restart Firefox.
Then loginto your Free (or paid) yahoo account at http://mail.yahoo.com.
Once you get to the start page look up at the location bar in firefox and copy from the http:// to the compose? part. it shouold look something like this, perhaps the same one, http://us.f134.mail.yahoo.com/ym/Compose?.
The us.f134.mail.yahoo.com is the important part that changes.

Then go to Tool->Extensions, select YahooCompose, right click and choose options.
When the options panel appears, go down to Sever URL, and paste your new URL there.
Restart Firefox, loginto yahoo mail, and then try out some mailto: links :)

rmjb

User avatar
 
Posts: 468
Joined: September 17th, 2003, 6:05 am
Location: Trinidad and Tobago

Post Posted July 13th, 2004, 6:11 am

Thanks so much for this jed, I'll test this thoroughly and let you know how it works

Thanks again!

- rmjb

rmjb

User avatar
 
Posts: 468
Joined: September 17th, 2003, 6:05 am
Location: Trinidad and Tobago

Post Posted July 13th, 2004, 6:30 am

Ahhhhh!!!! My Firefox is borked see the image below:

Image

Also when I click on any of the buttons in the extension manager for the extension Fx crashed.

I uninstalled the extension but I've still got this nice big status bar :cry:, which probably means it's an incompatibility with another extension.

Any files I can edit to completely remove it to get back my status bar the way it should be? Also, where's the list extensions extension? I've got a lot and I want to list them all here.

- rmjb

alanjstr
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 9100
Joined: November 5th, 2002, 4:43 pm
Location: Anywhere but here

Post Posted July 13th, 2004, 6:39 am

Why must you set the mail server? Have you tried http://compose.mail.yahoo.com?
Former UMO Admin, Former MozillaZine General Mod
I am rarely on mozillaZine, so please do not send me a private message.
My Old Firefox config files

rmjb

User avatar
 
Posts: 468
Joined: September 17th, 2003, 6:05 am
Location: Trinidad and Tobago

Post Posted July 13th, 2004, 6:43 am

Here's my extension list:

Paste and Go 0.3.1
DOM Inspector 1.0
Add Bookmark Here 0.5
CuteMenus 0.3.5
DownloadWith 0.0.7
FLST 0.6
JavaScript Console Status 1.5
MozFBRH 0.8.3
Popup Count 0.2.5
QuickNote 0.5.9
RSS Reader 0.7
User Agent Switcher 0.4
Web Developer 0.8
External Applications 0.6.5
ChromEdit 0.0.5.1.1
Context Search 0.2
Disable Targets For Downloads 0.3
Image Toolbar 0.3
SpellBound 0.3.0
SpellBound English Language Pack 0.3.0
ReloadEvery 0.3.2
Customizable Toolbar Buttons 0.1.4

Any idea what could cause that clash?

Oh, after I installed a new extension (Customizable Toolbar Buttons) the status bar is now fixed. But I still want to get he Yahoo! Mail Compose functionality to work tho.

Oh, and the url alanjstr provided works for me.

- rmjb

scottastrophik
 
Posts: 36
Joined: July 12th, 2004, 12:08 pm

Post Posted July 13th, 2004, 8:36 am

Works perfect jed thanks, I like it.

rmjb

User avatar
 
Posts: 468
Joined: September 17th, 2003, 6:05 am
Location: Trinidad and Tobago

Post Posted July 13th, 2004, 8:41 am

Okay, I'mma gonna try this again...

- rmjb

rmjb

User avatar
 
Posts: 468
Joined: September 17th, 2003, 6:05 am
Location: Trinidad and Tobago

Post Posted July 13th, 2004, 8:42 am

I get the same error :(.

- rmjb

ckjnigel
 
Posts: 285
Joined: November 5th, 2002, 12:37 am

Post Posted July 13th, 2004, 2:21 pm

I got a Fx screen like that of rmjb, with addition of a red up-pointing arrow at leftt side in that bottom item. I'm using Stipe branch build dated July 3 on WinMe. Clicking on the name in extension manager set the hourglass turning and I had to Ctrl-Alt-Delete my way out. (I used Roxio GoBack to undo.)
I'm very enthusiastic about this extension and would gladly help if you need help duplicating the bug.
Don't overlook the possibility of polling the POP server -- I'd love to see something like the Sage sidebar system. I've switched my main Yahoo home to Canada to get free POP, though I'm guessing US @yahoo.com accounts will first see enhancements from Oddpost.
jedbro, if you post uninstall instructions in this thread I'll post a link in the emaildiscussions.com board, where I know many would be interested.

jedbro

User avatar
 
Posts: 1899
Joined: November 10th, 2002, 12:35 pm
Location: Mexico / Boulder Co.

Post Posted July 13th, 2004, 4:00 pm

rmjb wrote:I get the same error :(.

- rmjb


That is VERY odd. have you tried GMailCompose? Does it do the same to you?
What build are you on? Something newer than 0.9.2?

ckjnigel wrote:I got a Fx screen like that of rmjb, with addition of a red up-pointing arrow at leftt side in that bottom item.

Do you have any other extensions installed? Any of the same as rmjb?
Thanks

Glad it's working for some of you. Hopefully we'll resolve the issues for those with whom it doesn't
Thanks for offering help. I'm not sure why this is happening. Could you try a new profile (no extension) and try the 0.9.2 release?
I'd like to narrow down what is causing the problem for you guys.

-Jed
Last edited by jedbro on July 13th, 2004, 4:13 pm, edited 1 time in total.

jedbro

User avatar
 
Posts: 1899
Joined: November 10th, 2002, 12:35 pm
Location: Mexico / Boulder Co.

Post Posted July 13th, 2004, 4:10 pm

alanjstr wrote:Why must you set the mail server? Have you tried http://compose.mail.yahoo.com?

Didn't know about that :) Thanks.
I'll upload an update soon and try and fix the problem some of you are having.
-Jed

ckjnigel
 
Posts: 285
Joined: November 5th, 2002, 12:37 am

Post Posted July 13th, 2004, 11:08 pm

jedbro, not one of my (numerous) extensions is in rmjb's list -- unless Sage and RSS Reader share some coding. I think I tried your Gmail extension, had it working fine, but just didn't see the need.
What I really want for Gmail is a way to compose in legible TrueType, even if it gets sent in ASCII -- I've been using the cuneAform extension to compose in that tab and then cut and paste to the Gmail composer.
As to selecting a Y!Mail icon, I plump for something that has enough difference from their standard so it can be spotted as :unauhorized" -- I've already got five red Y's in my bookmatks toolbar.

Return to Extension Development


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest